What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter

People don’t always realize the effect they have on you.

There are always questions about me and who I am today. If you know me, you’d know that I kind of draw into myself when I receive a compliment. I do this awkward laugh and just kind of cover myself with my arms and/or hands. My reason for doing this is the amount of things people have broken me down with over the past 2 years. People don’t always understand this and assume that I just don’t know how to receive a compliment, but the amount of verbal abuse I have received from people close to me has been astounding.

I am not complaining, because I have learned to live with it. I am merely trying to explain to y’all. I know that many other people out there are struggling with the same things and I want them to know that they are not alone. Yes, it leaves scars. But you can come out alive on the other side. Like they say, what doesn’t kill you makes a fighter.

Never let verbal abuse hurt your health. I did, and I had to suffer the consequences. Today, I am happy to say that I am stronger than ever before. I am a fighter now.

Leave a Reply

